Review: Flame In The Mist by Renee Ahdieh

flame in the mist.jpeg

Inner Cover Book Summary: “The only daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has always known she’d been raised for one purpose and on purpose only: to marry.  Never mind her cunning, which rivals that of her own twin brother, Kenshin, or her skills as an accomplished alchemist.  Since Mariko was not born a boy, her fat was sealed the moment she drew her first breath.  So, at just seventeen years old, Mariko is sent to the imperial palace to meet her betrothed, a man she did not choose, for the very first time.  But the journey is cut short when Mariko’s convoy is viciously attacked by the Black Clan, a dangerous group bandits who’ve been hired to kill Mariko before she reaches the palace.  The lone survivor, Mariko narrowly escapes to the woods, where she plots her revenge.  Dressed as a peasant boy, she sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and hunt down those responsible for the target on her back.  Once she’s within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she’s appreciated for her intellect and abilities.  She even finds herself falling in love – a love that will force her to question everything she’s ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.”

RATING *5/5 STARS*

Flame In The Mist by Renée Ahdieh was an excellent read.  The action is spread evenly throughout the book, and the plot moves along at a good pace.  There is only one matter which I found implausible.

I had heard that a lot of people thought this book was like Mulan.  But this is not Mulan.  I repeat, THIS IS NOT MULAN!  I didn’t compare this book to Mulan, and I think I was all the better for it.  Albeit, it did REMIND me of Mulan at a couple points; but A Flame In The Mist is its own story.

The only thing I found a little implausible was towards the beginning of the book.  After Mariko’s convoy was attacked, she was written as this scared girl.  Then suddenly, in the next page, she is suddenly tough and determined.  I would have liked to see a little more thought process on Mariko’s end to make this transition more realistic to me.

Other than this, the book was phenomenal.  I loved the world in which the story is set.  Mariko was great character, and her development was, for the most part, fun to read.  My favorite character, though, was Okami.  Of course, I have always had a thing for the brooding guy trope.  My least favorite character was Kenshin.  He is a weak-minded boy.  I would use the word man, but his actions paint him as boy to me.

The cliffhanger we are left with frustrated me.  I need to know what happens next!  Flame In The Mist is a great book!  Drop me a comment if you’ve read it or if you have any other thoughts!

Amazon Link: Flame In The Mist

Until the Next Review!2

8 thoughts on “Review: Flame In The Mist by Renee Ahdieh”

  1. I felt the same way about Mariko! I felt like her development was a little off for me. I also felt like I wanted more connection between her and the other members of the black clan. But overall enjoyed the book. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

