Review: Because You Love To Hate Me Edited By Ameriie

bylthm

Inner Cover Book Summary: “In this unique anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential booktubers to reimagine the origin stories of the villains we love to hate – infamous foes from fairy tales, mythology, and brand-new worlds.  Based on comic book-inspired enemies in pop culture and classics such as Medusa from Greek mythology, Moriarty from Sherlock Holmes, and the giant from “Jack and the Beanstalk,” these fractured unconventional spins retell each characters’ story in an original, unexpected way.  This behind-the-curtain look at villains explore the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that set them on the road to bad and questions whether or not anyone is truly born evil.  No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again…”

RATING *3/5 STARS*

I debated a lot on how to rate Because You Love To Hate Me.  It was one of my most anticipated releases.  Unfortunately, it didn’t quite live up to my expectations.  There were only a few short stories I really LOVED.  I knew that the villains spread across several genres, but I guess I was expecting something a little different.

The stories I really enjoyed were “The Sea Witch” by Marissa Meyer, “Death Knell” by Victoria Schwab, and “Shirley & Jim” by Susan Dennard.  The villains in these stories are a version of Ursula, Death, and Holmes and Moriarty.  They were my favorites out of the book.

I think one of the reasons it seems to be falling short for some people is that there isn’t a whole lot of action, in the sense of protagonist vs antagonist.  Instead, Because You Love To Hate Me focuses more on the psychology, background, and morals of villains.  It was interesting to think about and makes the reader wonder just how different we are from the villains.

I don’t regret purchasing Because You Love To Hate Me.  The cover is beautiful, and the stories I DID enjoy made it worth it.  Drop me a comment if you read Because You Love To Hate Me or if you have any other thoughts.

Until the Next Review!2

2 thoughts on “Review: Because You Love To Hate Me Edited By Ameriie”

  1. I feel like all the anticipated hype can be so damaging for a book! When there is so much hype and then it’s just average I wonder if I would’ve liked it more without any expectation. Ya know?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

