Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

harry potter 1

Back Cover Book Summary: “Harry Potter has never even heard of Hogwarts when the letters start dropping on the doormat at number four, Privet Drive.  Addressed in green ink on yellowish parchment with a purple seal, they are swiftly confiscated by his grisly aunt and uncle.  Then, on Harry’s eleventh birthday, a great beetle-eyed giant of a man called Rubeus Hagrid bursts in with some astonishing news: Harry Potter is a wizard, and he has a place at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.  An incredible adventure is about to begin!”

RATING *5/5 STARS*

Well, I finally picking up the first book and started reading Harry Potter for the first time in my life.  I was one of few people who haven’t read it up to this point.  And I have to say, I’m not sad I waited.  All the main books are out, as are the movies, which means no waiting a year in between books!  It would kill me to have to wait a year with this series.  I am hooked!

Just a note: I know the first book is called “the Sorcerer’s Stone” in the United States, but the copy I have came from the United Kingdom.  I was so confused with the title until I looked it up online.  I hadn’t known that there was a title difference.

I was pleasantly surprised with the first Harry Potter book.  I was worried that it wouldn’t live up to the hype.  But live up it did!  I didn’t see who the actual culprit was until the very end.

My favorite character has to be Hermione!  I identified with her so much – studious, occasional stick-in-the-mud, loyal friend.  Ron is adorable.  My friends always said I would probably be a Weasley because of my red hair!  Harry himself is endearing.  I have always enjoyed a good underdog story!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone was an amazing read!  I can’t wait to start the second one!  Now if you will excuse me, it’s time for me to go earn points for Hufflepuff!

Amazon Link: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Until the Next Review!2

2 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling”

Leave a Reply

