Review: Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau

dividing eden

Inner Cover Book Summary: “Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden.  With their older brother next in line to inherit the crown, the future of the kingdom was secure.  But appearances – and rivals for the throne – can be deceiving.  When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins.  Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear.  With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option – to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of the crown.  As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe – from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains.  But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.  How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to betrayal?  With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown.”

RATING *4/5 STARS*

Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau was an intriguing read.  The premise wasn’t original to me – two people fighting for the crown and throne.  However, I had never seen it set in a Trial; that was unique to me.  In addition, there were several plot twists thrown in, some of which I saw coming.

I loved the two main characters, Carys and Andreus, from the get-go.  This changed as I read, however.  I won’t say anymore because I don’t want to spoil it.  Let me just say, I believe the wrong sibling won the crown.

Like I said, in terms of plot twists, I saw a few coming.  There is one character who is at first believed to be an ally, which turns out to be false.  I was yelling at the characters because they didn’t see it; at least one them didn’t.  The two major plot twists that appear towards the end of the book took me by surprise.  I was in full support of them though.

When it came to world building, I thought Joelle Charbonneau did a fantastic job.  I could see the town and palace clearly in my mind.  The only thing I would have liked to see was a world map at the beginning of the book.  I was constructing one in my head as I read, but I never had a concrete image.

Dividing Eden seemed to focus more on the subterfuge of palace life and the relationships among the characters than the actual Trial itself.  The entire Trial seemed rushed to me.  It was over in two days.  The actual scenes with the Trial didn’t make up much of the book.  I would have enjoyed it more had it been drawn out a little longer.

Overall, Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau was a good read.  She left us with cliffhangers that I look forward to seeing resolved.  Drop me a comment on what you thought of Dividing Eden if you’ve read it or if you have any other comments.

Until the Next Review!2

2 thoughts on “Review: Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau”

Leave a Reply

