Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

Inner Cover Book Summary: “Cath is a Simon Snow fan.  Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan… But for Cath, being a fan is her life – and she’s really good at it.  She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.  Reading.  Rereading.  Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premier.  Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from the fandom, but Cath can’t let go.  She doesn’t want to.  Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates.  Cath is on her own, completely outside her comfort zone.  She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend; a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world; a handsome classmate who only want to talk about words…and she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile, and has never really been alone.  For Cath the question is: Can she do this?  Can she make it without Wren holding her hand?  Is she ready to start living her own life?  And does she want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

RATING *5/5 STARS*

I LOVE THIS BOOK!  Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell is one of the most relatable books I have ever read, especially since I just finished my first year of college!  While I rated it five stars, there are a few loose ends I would have liked to see resolved.

I deeply connected with Cath.  However, we approached the first-year college experience differently, probably because of different upbringings.  I would have liked to see her a little more self-sufficient.  There were a few times were I found myself thinking, “Just go out already!”  I enjoyed seeing the process of her finding herself, though.

There were two main male characters, Nick and Levi.  I love Levi!  He is so charming and happy; I found a kindred spirit in him!  Nick, on the other hand, made me mad.  I have run into guys like him before, although they weren’t to Nick’s extent.  Still, people who use you are not enjoyable.

I believe that Rainbow Rowell accurately captured the college atmosphere, so much so that I am as excited to start my second year as I was to begin my first year!  She portrayed the different stereotypes I have seen during my freshman year, from womanizers, to good guys, to party animals.

Like I said before, there were a couple of loose ends I didn’t appreciate.  What was her grade in the fiction-writing class?  How does her fan fiction end?  I need to know!!!!

I highly suggest reading Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell!  It is a fun, heart-warming read!  I would love to hear your thoughts if you have read Fangirl or are planning to read it!

Until the Next Review!2

8 thoughts on “Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell”

  1. Fangirl’s such a cute read, isn’t it? I completely agree about wanting to find out her final grade for her writing class though, I mean it doesn’t exactly matter too much but for some reason it still matters a lot and I want to know! lol
    With regards to her fanfiction, though, there is CARRY ON which may help with that too♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

