Review: Midnight At the Electric by Jodi Lynn Anderson

midnight at the electric

Inner Cover Book Summary Excerpt: “Kansas, 2065 Adri has secured a slot as a Colonist – one of the lucky few handpicked to live on Mars.  But weeks before the launch, she discovers the journal of a girl who lived in her house over a hundred years ago, and is immediately driven into the mystery surrounding her fate… Oklahoma, 1934 Amid the fear and uncertainty of the Dust Bowl, Catherine fantasizes about her family’s farmhand, and longs for the immortality promised by a professor at a traveling show called the Electric… England, 1919 In the recovery following the First World War, Lenore struggles with her grief for her brother, a fallen British soldier, and plans to sail to America in pursuit of her childhood friend…  While their stories span thousands of miles and multiple generations, Lenore, Catherine, and Adri’s fates are entwined in ways both heartbreaking and hopeful.”

RATING *3/5 STARS*

Midnight At the Electric by Jodi Lynn Anderson wasn’t quite what I was expecting.  If I’m being honest, I’m not quite sure what I was expecting.  The book fell flat for me, and I had difficulty staying engaged at a few points.  The only thing that increased the rating to three stars was the ending.

This book is perfect for those who are big fans of historical YA fiction.  Two of three viewpoints, Lenore’s and Catherine’s, took place in the past.  Adri’s sections were my personal favorites, I think because her viewpoints were in the future, and I am more a fan of fantasy/sci-fi than I am historical fiction.  The technology portrayed in Adri’s point-of-view was actually feasible – hover cars (an actual thing), 3-D printers (an actual thing), 3-D printed food (an actual thing; trust me it is.  It’s fascinating!)  This honestly was my favorite part of the book.

Most of Midnight At the Electric is conveyed through the letters which Lenore and Catherine wrote, which I thought was an interesting format.  The time line jumped around a little; the dates varied as the letters did.  Most of the letters skipped a few days, but there were a couple of point where they skipped months.

Another thing that confused me is that the summary says Catherine’s point of view took place in Oklahoma, yet Adri’s was in Kansas.  And they were staying at the same house.  Maybe I just missed something.  Let me know what you think if you read Midnight At the Electric.  I always like hearing other opinions on books!

2 thoughts on “Review: Midnight At the Electric by Jodi Lynn Anderson”

Leave a Reply

