Review: How To Be A Bawse by Lilly Singh

how to be a bawse.jpeg

Inner Cover Book Summary Excerpt: “Lilly Singh isn’t just a superstar.  She’s Superwoman – which is also the name of her wildly popular YouTube channel.  Funny, smart, and insightful, the actress and comedian covers topics ranging from relationships to career choices to everyday annoyances.  It’s no wonder she’s garnered more than a billion views.  But Lilly didn’t get to the top by being lucky – she had to work for it.  Hard.  Now Lilly wants to share the lessons she learned while taking the world by storm, and the tools she used to do it.  How To Be a Bawse is the definitive guide to conquering life.  Make no mistake, there are no shortcuts to success, personal or professional.  World domination requires real effort, dedication, and determinations.  Just consider Lilly a personal trainer for your life – with fifty rules to get you in the game, including – Let Go of FOMO (Fear of Missing Out): Temptation will try to steer you away from you goals.  FOMO is just a test of your priorities, a test that a bawse is ready to pass.”

RATING *5/5 STARS*

Bawse: a person who exudes confidence, hustles relentlessly, reaches goals, gets hurt efficiently, and smiles genuinely because he or she has fought through it all and made it out the other side

Lilly Singh is amazing!!  I hadn’t heard of her videos before I found her book, but after reading her book, I want to watch all of her videos.  Lilly’s book How To Be a Bawse is the most inspirational (and funny) book I have read all year!

The book’s chapters are split into four sections: Master Your Mind, Hustle Harder, Make Heads Turn, and Be A Unicorn.  Each section spoke to me in its own way.  Before I even started reading, Lilly wrote that she would be calling me out, and call me out she did.  I felt as if she were speaking directly to me with some chapters.

The chapters in Master Your Mind discussed your thoughts about yourself.  My favorite chapter in this section was “Have Fewer Emotions.”  Lilly talked about separating your emotions and your job, in that you shouldn’t let your emotions take over when something needs to be accomplished.  This really struck home; I once had a slight break down when something of which I was in charge failed.  It was not the proudest moment in my life, and I cringe when I think about it.  However, this chapter taught me that it’s okay to feel that way, just don’t let it take over!

The next section, Hustle Harder, talks about work ethic, because, believe it or not, hard work is required to succeed.  My favorite chapter, “Take the Stairs,” says, “There is no escalator to success.”  You have to work your way up, step-by-step, to arrive at your goal.

Make Heads Turn is, I felt, the most inspirational section of How To Be a Bawse.  I especially loved the chapter “Be the Dumbest.”  We are not masters of every subject; there will always be people who are more well-versed in certain fields.  With these fields, it pays off to “be the dumbest” in the room.  We can choose to ask questions and learn from them.

The most prevalent theme in the last section, Be A Unicorn, was spreading love and kindness amongst both the people around us and the entire world.  I found the chapter “Be Nice To People” contained tips I am already using.  Being nice to people pays off in ways you might not consider; although pay off shouldn’t be our main motivation for treating people with kindness.

How To Be a Bawse is a must-read.  I guarantee you will learn things about yourself, including good and bad.  Lilly Singh is both Superwoman and a Bawse.  I will forever remember her tips.  Let’s all be Bawses and take our world by storm!

Leave a Reply

