Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

when dimple met rishi.jpeg

Inner cover book summary: “Dimple Shah has it all figured out.  With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family – and from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respecter her principles on some level, though.  If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?  Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic.  So when his parents tell him that he and his future wife will be attending the same summer program – wherein he’ll have to woo her – he’s totally on board.  Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.  The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitating toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not? Dimple and Rishi think they have each other figured out.  But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.”

RATING *5/5 STARS*

MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD

To quote Rishi, “Oh my gods!”  This book was so good!  The authors of the contemporary romance books I have read lately are killing it (in a good way)!!!  Sandhya Menon is not to be excluded!

This book hit me in all the feels!  When I finished it, I could only sit and process; I felt all gooey inside.  Books like this are one of the reasons I am a romantic; they give me hope for the future.

Dimple and Rishi are two very different people.  However, I was able to relate with them both.  Dimple is a computer programmer.  I have had some experience with computer programming, and, let me tell you, it is challenging.  Dimple’s proficiency in the field earns her my admiration.  Dimple is also eager to get out of the house, enjoy her independence, and make her own way in life.

Rishi, on the other hand, loves his parents and his heritage deeply.  He feels responsible to continue to family legacy, since his little brother Ashish seems to hold none of the same sentiments.  I liked his dedication to family; family means everything to me.  Rishi is also a romantic, like me.  It’s not often I read about a male protagonist who acts like a perfect gentleman.  Guys, acting like a gentleman is one of the most attractive things in guy!

Rishi’s only downfall is his unwillingness to follow his dreams because of family expectations.  Now, I understand how this and his dedication to the family connect.  However, in my eyes, I agreed with Dimple when she talked to him about this; I just wouldn’t have called him a coward.  Rishi and his family do eventually come to an understanding, much to my relief.

There are romance scenes in When Dimple Met Rishi (it’s a romance book after all.)  These scenes range from kissing to a bedroom scene.  The bedroom scene is handled very tastefully and is not graphic.  In addition, these scenes compose only a small portion of the book.  This made me happy.  I don’t like reading a lot of contemporary romance books because the bedroom scenes are every-other-chapter (an exaggeration, but you know what I mean.)

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon should most definitely be added to your TBR.  I loved every page!

Leave a Reply

