My Favorite Books of 2017 (So Far)

Wow!  2017 is already half-way over.  Where the heck has the time gone?  I don’t know about you, but I have read some amazing books during this time.  So, in honor of us surviving the first half of 2017, I give you a list of my favorite books of 2017 (so far)!

Caraval

caraval

Caraval by Stephanie Garber was an amazing book.  Every page was filled with the magic that is Caraval.  I read this book in January and finished it in two days.  I was incredibly sad when it ended.  I eagerly await the sequel!

#GirlBoss

Girlboss

I was so glad I picked this book up.  #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso is so inspiring.  After finishing it, I felt like going out and taking the world by storm!  I believe every woman should read this book.  Sophia Amoruso isn’t afraid to say what she thinks and tell you how she got to where she is today.  I’ll give you a hint: blood, sweat, and tears.

Stalking Jack the Ripper

stalking jack the ripper.jpeg

Let me start off by saying, I have an obsession with unsolved cases, Jack the Ripper being at the top of that list.  Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco did a wonderful job of giving us the “solution” to the case.  I saw several reviews which complained about the autopsy and crime scene descriptions.  Personally, being a Forensic Chemistry double major, these scenes didn’t bother me.  In addition, if you have read anything about Jack the Ripper, you know his murders were gruesome, thus the “Ripper” part of his name.  So, in reality, these scenes in the book are not nearly as bad as they could be.  Regardless of the criticism out there, I loved this book!

Lean In

Lean in

 

Similar to #GIRLBOSS, Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg was extremely inspiring.  Lean In concentrates more on the differences between men and women in the workplace and provides women with solutions on how to make their place at the table and lean in.  This isn’t just a book that all women should read; all men should read this, too!  Reading Lean In made me realize just how often I am passive and don’t speak my mind or give my ideas.  I am working on changing this.  Lean In was so worth the read!

A Court of Wings and Ruin

ACOWAR_US

What can I say?  Sarah J. Maas is a literary genius, and I love every single one of  her books!  A Court of Wings and Ruin was the third installment of the A Court of Thorns and Roses series.  And, boy, was it a good one!  Contrary to popular belief, it is not the last book in the series, thank goodness!  I’m not ready to say goodbye to Feyre and Rhys quite yet.  For a more detailed review, check out the one I wrote for A Court of Wings and Ruin at Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas.

The Night Circus

The Night Circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern earned the number one spot on my favorite fiction book of all time!  I have never been as enraptured with a book as I was with The Night Circus.  The only word to describe it is magic!  For a more detailed review, visit Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

Well folks, this concludes the list.  I will do another one of these posts at the end of this year.  I hope you enjoyed reading about my favorite books and that one of them becomes your favorite book, too!

Leave a Reply

