Review: The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

the-sun-is-also-a-star

Inner Cover Book Summary: “The story of a girl, a boy, and the universe.  Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts.  Not fate.  Not destiny.  Or dreams that will never come true.  I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him.  Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica.  Falling in love with him won’t be my story.  Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations.  Never the poet.  Or the dreamer.  But when I see her, I forget about all that.  Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store – for both of us.  The Universe: Every moment in our lies has brought us to this single moment.  A million futures lie before us.  Which one will come true?”

MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD

REVIEW *5/5 STARS*

The Sun Is Also A Star made me so incredibly happy.  The entire premise is entirely convincing, in some ways that is.  I liked that Natasha and Daniel, the main characters in the book, are seventeen and eighteen, approximately.  Their ages, close to mine, helped me relate to them.

I connected with Natasha and Daniel in separate ways.  Natasha is a scientist, as am I.  I loved when she talked about scientific matters.  On the other hand, I don’t share her belief that science is the highest source in which one can believe.  Daniel is the dreamer, always positive.  This is one of the many reasons I love him so much.  I like that he never seems to give up.

Daniel harnesses the test which supposedly will cause two people to fall in love – the test with about forty questions followed with four minutes of staring into one another’s eyes.  If you haven’t heard about it before, I suggest researching it.  It is a fascinating premise.

The whirl wind romance seems, at first, unbelievable.  But when you stop and think about it, it starts to make sense.  Sure, in our world, you don’t hear much about two people falling in love in one day, but it has happened.  I’m sure there are those readers who will scoff at the plot and write it off as another book about two fanciful teenagers.  However, I say don’t automatically adopt their beliefs about the book as your own.  Because this book will, I hope, make you as happy as it made me and give you hope.

The ending completely ruined me.  I thought all was lost until literally the last four pages.  But Nicola Yoon made it to where I wasn’t sure if those last four pages actually happened or not.  I think she left it up to interpretation, leaving it up to us to determine if it occurred.  I myself choose to believe it happened; I’m a romantic that way.

I am so glad I read The Sun Is Also A Star.  It is one of a few contemporary romance book I enjoyed so much I want to own it (I had checked it out of my local library.)  And that cover though – absolutely gorgeous!!!  I hope you read this book; let me know what you think if you do!  Until the next review, Sarah

Leave a Reply

