Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus

RATING *5/5 STARS*

Excerpt of Inner Cover Summary: “The circus arrives without warning.  No announcements precede it, no paper notices plastered on lampposts and billboards.  It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.  Within these nocturnal black-and-white-striped tents awaits an utterly unique experience, a feast for the senses, where one can get lost in a maze of clouds, meander through a lush garden made of ice, stare in wonderment as the tattooed contortionist folds herself into a small glass box, and become deliciously tipsy from the scents of caramel and cinnamon that waft through the air.  Welcome to Le Cirque des Rêves.”

Magic – this is the only word that came to mind as I read The Night Circus, if in fact there exists a word to properly capture the essence of this book.  I am having difficulty putting into words how happy The Night Circus made me as I read.

Fans of The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye will enjoy this book.  Both books have the same competition of magical feats as the main plot.  I enjoyed The Night Circus much more, however.

Normally, the characters make the book for me.  Not so with this one.  The circus itself made me fall in love.  I could clearly picture myself wandering the grounds of the circus, climbing the cloud maze, eating the chocolate mice with their licorice tails, and wandering through the ice garden.  The mystique that surrounded the circus filled me with joy.

The characters did play an integral role, as they do in every book.  I was thrown onto a roller coaster of emotion.  Celia and Marco, the two main characters of the book, were amazing.  My favorite character, however, was Isobel.  She is a secondary character and makes an appearance throughout several chapters.  I was able to personally connect the most with her and her struggles.

There is only one thing I did not like about the book – the timeline.  For the first couple of chapters we are in the past, then for the next couple chapters after those, we are in the present day.  This patterns continues throughout the book.  The only indication that we had switched time periods was the month and year listing underneath the chapter titles.  This confused me until about a quarter of the way into the book.  Other than that, there were no major issues.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is a must read!  I wish there were other books like this one.  Though if I am being perfectly honest, I think other books would be hard-pressed to outdo The Night Circus!

One thought on “Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern”

Leave a Reply

