Review: I Was a Teenage Ghost Hunter by Brian K. Henry

i was a teenage ghost hunter

*I was given this ebook by the author in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts are my own and were not influenced by anyone.*

RATING *3/5 STARS*

I Was a Teenage Ghost Hunter was a fun read.  Devin is a high school student who has the ability to see ghosts.  His friends encourage him to investigate and utilize his ability, especially when there is a seemingly ghostly presence on the abandoned Rousten estate.  In addition, supernatural happenings start occurring throughout their town.  With his friends’ help and the encouragement of Emily, Devin’s crush, they seek to discover what exactly is causing supernatural occurrences, how to stop them and finally bring peace to their town.

Between the equipment they used and their in-this-together spirit, Devin and his friends Rex and Clive reminded me of a cross between the Three Musketeers and the Ghostbusters.  I wanted a group of friends like them when I was in high school.

The writing and imagery in this book is phenomenal.  I could see the Rousten estate in such detail.  This imagery also added to the relationships in this book.  I was able to clearly picture Devin, Rex, and Clive as they gave one another a hard time and support.  I haven’t loved characters like them so much in quite a while.

The action in the plot is kind of slow until about a third of the way into the book.  I was happy I kept reading though, because when the action does pick up, it picks up quickly.  By the end of the book, I couldn’t put it down.  In fact, I had a couple late nights because I had to see what happened next.

I Was a Teenage Ghost Hunter is more geared toward the sixteen and younger age group; although, I highly enjoyed it.  I rate the fright aspect of the book a 2/5.  Some of the images are vivid, but they contributed positively to the book’s plot.

Brian K. Henry’s writing is amazing.  I enjoyed reading his I Was a Teenage Ghost Hunter and look forward to future works!

 

 

1 thought on “Review: I Was a Teenage Ghost Hunter by Brian K. Henry”

Leave a Reply

